11.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1937, Legislatures and Ministries, 1924 to the Present—concluded.

THE TERRITORIES.

Note.—In 1888 the districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska, and Saskatchewan, then called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given local responsible government, and the old Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area included in these districts was formed into the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan, on Sept. 1, 1905, these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The remaining areas (Yukon and the provisional districts of Franklin, Keewatin, and Mackenzie) are now administered by the Lands, Parks and Forests Branch, Department of Mines and Resources. The Deputy Minister of the Department is, ex officio, the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories, which comprises the three provisional districts.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNORS.

Name.	Date of Appointment.	Name.	Date of Appointment.
A. G. Archibald	May 10, 1870 April 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 7, 1876 Dec. 3, 1881	Joseph Royal	July 1, 1858 Oct. 31, 1893 May 30, 1898 Oct. 11, 1898 Mar. 30, 1904

¹ Second term.

PART IV.—REPRESENTATIVES IN OTHER COUNTRIES.* Section 1.—Representatives Within the Empire.

The policy of the early North American colonies, of maintaining in London accredited representatives for business and diplomatic purposes, was recognized in the eighteenth century as being a more satisfactory means of communication with the British Government than that provided by occasional official visits or by correspondence. Of the Canadian colonies, Nova Scotia was the first to adopt this plan, its Legislature having appointed an Agent in London in 1761. New Brunswick was similarly represented in 1786, Upper Canada as early as 1794, Lower Canada in 1812 and British Columbia in 1857. Following Confederation, several of the provinces continued to adhere to, and in certain cases enlarge upon, the practice to the extent of themselves appointing Crown Agents or Agents General. Such developments as have taken place are dealt with on p. 92 of the 1934-35 Year Book.

The High Commissioner for Canada.—With the federation of the provinces of British North America in 1867, a new political entity which could not avail itself of the services of the provincial Agents was brought into existence. To supplement the ordinary method of communication between the Canadian and British Governments, which at that time was by correspondence between the Governor General and the Secretary of State for the Colonies, the position of High Commissioner for Canada was created in 1880 (see R.S.C. 1927, c. 92). The duties of the office are defined in the Act as follows:—

"The High Commissioner shall-

"(a) act as representative and resident agent of Canada in Great Britain and in that capacity execute such powers and perform such duties as are, from time to time, conferred upon and assigned to him by the Governor in Council;

[&]quot;Revised by the Department of External Affairs, Ottawa. An annual report on the organization and activities of Canadian Government representation abroad is contained in the Report of the Department of External Affairs, which may be obtained from the King's Printer, price 25 cents.